59° Faenza Prize – International Competition of Contemporary Ceramic Art

59° Faenza Prize – International Competition of Contemporary Ceramic Art




8 €, Special reduction: 5 €


from 2018-11-11
to 2019-04-28


The International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza

Hours from Tuesday to Sunday and holidays 10:00-19:00 The Museum is closed: every Monday unless it is a holiday, 15th August, 25th December

A record Faenza Prize.  This year the 59th International Competition of Contemporary Ceramic Art has collected more than 600 subscriptions. The Competition started in 1838, has successfully became international since the Seventies and it has always been a medium to survey the contemporary ceramic sculpture outcomes.

The Jury of the 59th Faenza prize composed of Claudia Casali, Director of MIC Faenza,  Monika Gass, Director of Keramikmuseum, Westerwald, Höhr-Grenzhausen, Germany; Grant Gibson, Director of the Crafts Council Magazine, Great Britain and Daniela Lotta, Art and Design historian, teacher ISIA in Faenza, faced serious difficulties in the selection of the works to award.

The Jury awarded  the following prizes:


Faenza Prize over 40 supported by the Fondazione del Monte e Cassa di Risparmio di Faenza to the Italian artist Silvia Celeste Calcagno for  the work Interno 8 - La fleur coupée. Reason for the prize: the project represents a narration linked to a really current social and political dimension. The female figure has been portrayed through her fragilities and intimacy, she has been shown in counterposed situations which join images with a marked emotional perspective. The work manages very well the different contemporary languages as a performance, photography, sound and environmental installation. It gives a structure to a complex stratified narration, which becomes  concrete through a experimental research on ceramics, where a whole composition made up of 2000 little plaques exalts the single detail, in a wide ranging abstraction.


Faenza Prize under 40 supported by the Fondazione del Monte e Cassa di Risparmio di Faenza ex aequo to the artists Helene Kirchmair (Austria) for the work Bobbles, and Thomas Stollar (United States) for the work 1900 steps #2. Reason for the prizes:  Helene Kirchmair  analyzes the micro and macrocosm through a different way of working on the surfaces. It offers visual and tactile sensations really original that call to mind the organic and vegetal dimension, the invisible but real essence.

Thomas Stollar starts a process of relation with the places of his daily routine reaching the formalization, through a modeled-visual resolution, his life experience.


Cersaie Prize supported by Edi.Cer S.p.A., Sassuolo, to the British artist Nicholas Lees, for  the work Four Leaning Vessels. Reason for the prize: through his flawless technical perfection, the artist communicates a sensation of dematerialized  lightness which call to mind “trompe-l-oeil”  effects, which are dynamic and bright. The shape overcomes the archetypal of the vase and becomes motion, perception and intangible uncertainty.


Prize of Honor from the Presidency of the Senate of the Italian Republic to the Belgian artist Yves Malfliet, for the work “somewhere…over the mountain”.


Prize of Honor from the Presidency of the Chamber of the Deputies  to the artist from the Unites States Kathy Ruttenberg for the work  Lost at Sea.


Prize of the Presidency of the Emilia Romagna Region  to the Belgian artist Ann Van Hoey for the work  The Earthenware Ferrari.


Prize of the Presidency of the “Assemblea Legislativa” of Emilia Romagna region to the Italian artist  Chiara Lecca for the work Triptych of true fake marble.


Monica Biserni Prize devoted to a young artist, to the Ungarian artist  Simon Zsolt József for the work Spherical Atlas.


Prize in memory of Eleuterio Ignazi devoted to a young artist, to the artist from Switzerland Marie-Laure Gobat_Bouchat, with the work Ecorces Vives.


Prize of the Rotary Club in Faenza to Monika J. Schoedel-Mueller & Werner B. Nowka (Germany) for the work Blossoms and leaves - Blüten und Blätter.


Prize of the Lions Club Faenza Host to the Turkish artist Omur Tokgoz, for the work  Relativity 2.


Prize in memory of Valter Dal Pane, devoted to new talented artists, to the Italian artist Giulio Mannino for the work Sol 6272 Hz.


Medal of the review D’A, devoted to the youngest artist in the competition to the Russiam artist Irina Razumovskaya.


Mention of Honor – gold medal of the International Museum of ceramics in Faenza for the important results obtained in her artistic career to the Finnish artist  Erna Aaltonen.


More details:


Focus On