Entry price: € 3.50
Reduced € 1.50 (from 3 to 14 years and +65), free (up to 3 years old and disabled), students € 1
9-12 and 15-19. Sundays and holidays 10-13 and 15-19. October to November, the closure is anticipated to 18 For group booking is required. For info and reservations: Fortress (0547 22409) or Professor. Othello Amaducci (mobile 348 8972301)
Telephone: +39 0547 22409
MOBILE: +39 0547 22409
FAX: +39 0547 356329
INFOLINE: +39 0547 356327
The first news about fortifications in this place dates back to the 6th century. Most information refers to the old fortress, which housed the emperors Frederick Barbarossa in 1177 and Frederick II in 1241. It was enlarged several times but today only a few remains, including two arches called 'owl eyes', can still be seen in the area of Porta Montanara. Its conquest in 1357 by Cardinal Albornoz, a Pope's legate, despite the brave defence by Cia degli Ubaldini, Francesco Ordelaffi's wife, is one of the most famous events in local history.
The current Fortress, which has an irregular pentagonal shape, was started by Galeotto Malatesta and was completed by his successors in 1480. Recently restored, the charming internal communication trenches connect the seven towers to different sections of the fortress and offer a breathtaking view to the sea. These communication trenches were used by garrison soldiers to take cover and to reach any part of the fortress, going as far as the Rocchetta di Piazza and, thus, the Palazzo Comunale. The loopholes located all along the walls were used to control the internal courtyards.
Today, the Fortress courtyard is used in summer as venue for concerts and cultural events, thus providing a unique background to spectacular events like the traditional Medieval feast with period costumes held in autumn. The courtyard is overlooked by the main square keep today housing the Malatestian Ceramics Exhibition Area and by the smaller rectangular keep with a polygonal bastion on one of its corners, which today houses the Museo di Storia dell'Agricoltura."
Fonte: redazione locale Forlì-Cesena