Guided tours are subject to charges
weekends and holidays 10-13 / 15-18 (July-August: 10-13 and 19:30 to 22:30). Other days, opening on request, by phoning 0545 905501 - 76733
Telephone: +39 0545 905540
INFOLINE: +39 0545 905501
The present castle was built in XV century on the ruins of the former one; the reconstruction took several decades and was probably wished by the Landlords who succeeded along the years: Imola Bishop, Manfredi family, Colleoni family, Girolamo Riario and Caterina Sforza.
The last added pieces are the west positioned keep, dating back to 1479 and the elegant porch commissioned by Caterina Sforza.
After the ephemeral occupation by Cesare Borgia, known as "il Valentino", towards 1500, the town lived some troubled decades, till it returned part of the Papal States. Its condition was however particular: as a matter of fact, it was a domain of Imola bishop, who had full powers on it. The fortress became thus the residence of bishop's officer and underwent some alterations aiming to trasform it into a residential building (towers were roofed and so on).
In the XVII century the drawbridge connecting the fortress to the town was suppressed. Only hooks and the chute were left.
After Unity of Italy, it was confiscated, auctioned and bought by the Town Council. After it became a school, a recreation meeting point, a war shelter and again a school.
In the keep visitors can admire the top, the pillbox and the underpassages; while the other tower, east positioned, which can be considered a little jewel. Worth of mention, beside the guns and the former defensive systems are also the elegant porch wished by Caterina, the recently restored yard and the cerimony hall. Here eight precious pictures are exhibited. They are part of the legacy of a Lord from Bologna and date back to the XVII and XVIII century.